We drove down to Boilermaker Country this weekend to compete against a few teams from around the area. Our van left at 10:00 a.m. on Friday and made decent time. Unfortunately, we had to cram more people in the van than could fit comfortably. Needless to say, after 4.5 hours in the car, I couldn’t wait to get out.

We stayed at the Signature Inn, about 6 miles from campus. The weather was overcast and rainy for the majority of the weekend. I had been hoping for the storms to come through on Saturday so we could have a nice wind to throw into, but it didn’t work out that way. Instead, the rain came on Friday night and there was virtually no wind on Saturday.

It was exciting to see Brad Wentzel break the school record in hammer by .48m, with a throw of 59.69m, his only mark of the day. The previous record holder, Anthony Agrusa, took third and has been working to regain his form from last year. I’m positive Anthony will better his pr, but it will be hard to beat Brad on his best day.

Ashley Lawrence also had a good meet for what would seem to be the millionth time in a row. Her discus series saw 2 throws over 50m, and a sector foul well past 52m. She ended up recording a mark of 50.94m, good for first place and a seasonal best.

I had a rough showing in discus. My main problem was not being able to get into a rhythm from the beginning. The best mark I threw was 48.61, which happened in the first round. It felt bad and my coach gave me some things to work on for my next throws. I don’t know why I wasn’t able to put it all together, but I did have a foul go over 50m, so I had it within my ability to get a better mark that day. Anthony, who was fired up from losing his record in hammer the day before, ended up winning the competition with a mark of 51.48 on his final throw.

Fortunately, I got moved into a different van on the ride back. Coach calmed down and got back into a good mood. I had a nice talk with him about a number of things, specifically the approach he takes to training and competing. We probably talked for 2 hours or so, and it made the car ride go by much faster. This next week will be a big week of practice in preparation to throw at the Jesse Owens Track Classic next weekend.

